Adwoa Safo To Appear Before Privileges Committee On May 27

Adwoa Safo To Appear Before Privileges Committee On May 27



The embattled Dome Kwabenya MP, Sarah Adwoa Safo, has also been scheduled to appear before the Privileges Committee of Parliament on Friday, May 27. The Member of Parliament for Ayawaso Central, Henry Quartey and Assin North MP, Kennedy Agyapong are also supposed to appear before the Committee on May 26 and May 31


respectively. The three NPP MPs will face the Committee for their breach of the 15 day absence rule provided in 1992 Constitution and Standing Orders of Parliament. According to the Ranking Member on the Committee, Ricketts Kweku Hagan, the Committee has officially written to all three NPPs MPs. In an interview, he said



there will be a maiden meeting on Wednesday to outline the modalities as to how the interrogation of the three MPs will be done. 25th, is when we will have the maiden meeting. 26th which is a Thursday is when we will invite the first MP in the name of Henry Quartey who will be the first person. At the moment, it will be in-camera meeting,



but obviously, tomorrow’s meeting will put all the modalities together as to exactly how we are going to conduct it. But invitation has gone out as far as I am concerned. The 27th which is a Friday is Adwoa Safo, the 31st which is the following Tuesday will be Kennedy Agyapong, The Cape Coast South MP noted that apart



from the Assin North MP, who requested to be scheduled to May 31, because he would go for a medical review, the other two MPs have so far not informed of their intention to be absent.‘As far as I am concerned, I have not been informed by the Clerk that they have said they can’t come or whatever, so I assume that if they have received the



invite, then we expect to see them. Only Hon Kennedy Agyapong is one that I know has asked for permission which myself and the Chairman discussed and we also obliged that he can have that, he stated. He noted that any MP who fails to appear before the Committee will be cited for contempt of the House.